Abreaction

September 1, 2008

ABREACTION – n. Psychoanalysis the expression and consequent release of a previously repressed emotion, achieved through hypnosis or suggestion.

My psychology background drew me to this word.  Although I don’t put much stock in psychoanalysis, it has had and continues to have tremendous influence in the field of psychology and a lot of psychoanalytic jargon has become quite commonplace over the years.

Abreaction seems to be a common enough concept that several would-be musicians have opted to identify themselves with the word.  For instance, Abreaction Key, a band from Calgary, Alberta or Justin Joseph’s Abreaction from Waltham, US.  I think Abreaction Key might have some potential.

Also, the youth in this video appropriated the word to describe their compilation of stupid behavior.  I don’t think it would be a stretch to suggest that these kids might one day require a genuine abreaction.

One Response to “Abreaction”

  1. Kristin said

    Wow! That is really graphic and I would have to agree that those teens need some real help because they have some real problems, I think a little supervision would also be a good idea.
    I think that reading this I will learn a lot of words that I never even heard of before and maybe then I can sound a little intelligent.

Leave a Reply

