Ambuscade

October 20, 2008

AMBUSCADE – n. an ambush – v. archaic lie in wait; ambush

Ambuscade

Ambuscade

It’s interesting to see the variety of results that a search for Ambuscade produces.

This is a painting by Pamela Patrick White called Ambuscade.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s an interesting Time article about some war stuff in 1952 entitled Ambuscade.

Ambuscade is the title of a short story by William Faulkner.

Undeclinable Ambuscade is the former name of the dutch melodic hardcore band The Undeclinables.  They’re sort of Offspring-esque.

And Eight Royal Navy ships have borne the name HMS Ambuscade, the oldest being from 1746.

2 Responses to “Ambuscade”

  1. Hi Peter,
    It’s interesting to see where one’s creations will wind up.I paint 18th century American history and often use 18th century terminology for the titles of my paintings, such as “Ambuscade” to keep the flavor of the period.I was delighted to see that your Word of the Day chose a piece of my artwork!
    Best Wishes,
    Pamela

  2. Peter Leavitt said

    Pamela,
    I’m glad to have drawn you to my word blog. I guess you never know who will end up looking at your blog. And I’m glad you don’t mind me using the image. Great painting! And great title!
    Peter

Leave a Reply

