Andiron

November 4, 2008

ANDIRON – n. a metal support, typically one of a pair; for wood burning in a fireplace.

After a few days without a word of the day, I figured I’d bring us back in with something simple.  This is a word for something that I’m sure most of us have seen before, but that we never knew had its own name.  These are some of my favorite kinds of word discoveries.  See my earlier post for Aglet to see another of my favorites.

 

A set of andirons as they would be used in a fireplace.

A set of andirons as they would be used in a fireplace.

Leave a Reply

